67 Inducted Into National Honor Society

67 Inducted Into National Honor Society

Wantagh High School’s National Honor Society inducted 67 new members during a traditional candle lighting ceremony, held in the auditorium on April 26 and taped for the community. The evening featured words of wisdom from administrators, musical interludes by the Wantagh High School String Chamber Ensemble, under the baton of Dana Langer, and a rendition of the national anthem by Katriana Koppe.  

  Principal Dr. Paul Guzzone said he has been reflecting on why he was never qualified as a high school student to be inducted into the National Honor Society and determined that there was an unwillingness on his part to sacrifice what was important to him. He told the inductees that they have the maturity, passion and drive to succeed and cautioned them that induction into the society comes with a high degree of responsibility.  

  “Live with the motto today, tomorrow and for years and decades to come,” he said. 

  Superintendent of Schools John C. McNamara said the inductees demonstrated strength in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, character and citizenship even during a pandemic. “Why do you believe you have become such successful students?” he asked. “Consider all those things and consider your legacy.”  

  Board President Adam Fisher also noted that the inductees have overcome obstacles presented to them due to the pandemic. “The reason you are here this evening is not only because of the choices you have made, but that your teachers, guidance counselors and principal noticed how those choices set you apart from your classmates – choices that will certainly follow you beyond these high school walls,” Mr. Fisher said.     

Keynote speaker, history teacher and Class of 2021 adviser Deanna Peppe commended the students’ resiliency and ability to adapt. “You have learned to adapt and succeed,” she said. “Through perseverance, you can overcome anything. Nothing can stop you.” 

National Honor Society trustees Christian Carson-Rodriguez, Lauren Daniels, Allison McGinn and Anjelica Meagher then lit the ceremonial candles, which represented the society’s tenets of scholarship, leadership, service and character. Co-vice presidents Grace Ackermann and Robert Spiteri then led the inductees in the society’s pledge.  

Each of the inductees was then called to the stage where they received a pin and certificate marking their induction into the society.